East Java


About East Java

East Java (Indonesian: Jawa Timur) is a province of Indonesia. It is located on the eastern part of the island of Java and also includes neighbouring Madura and Bawean islands. The administrative centre of the province is located in Surabaya, the second largest city in Indonesia and a major industrial centre and port. East Java also hosts a significant population of other ethnic groups, such as Chinese, Indians, and Arabs. In addition to the national language, Indonesian, they also speak Javanese. The major religion in East Java is Islam. This comes from earlier history, when Islam

spread from northern cities in Java where many traders from Gujarat, India visited, bringing Islam. East Java's history dates back to the famous ancient kingdoms of Kediri and Singhasari, which is now a city near Malang. The Majapahit dynasty centered at Trowulan, Mojokerto East Java and around East Java, began the foundations of an empire that was to dominate the entire Indonesian archipelago.

East Java offers many insight into Indonesia’s rich cultures and crafts as diverse as the people themselves. East Java is a true melting pot of the country for many ethnic groups. It is understandable that it is cause of its  vast area and different kinds of condition between one place and another. The characteristic of its cultural art is also different.